Shimla MC now has 34 wards

News, Views

img_1388The state election commission of Himachal Pradesh on Tuesday notified the list of 34 wards for Shimla municipal corporation to be held in 2017.

In the last election there were only 25 wards.According to the latest census count the wards have been increased by nine to 34 now.

The secretary of the state election commission P.C. Akela said the notification was available for inspection at DC Office Shimla, Office of MC Shimla and at the website of State Election Commission.

Any voter can obtain a copy of orders of delimitation from office of DC Shimla by paying Rs. 50 as fee.

The Shimla MC is one of the oldest civic bodies in India.The next elections are due next summer.