Luis Leao Pinto wins 9 MTB Himalaya rally


9 mtb himalayaShimla : World number Luis Leao Pinto of Portugal won the 9 MTB Himalaya cycle rally in style Thursday as the six day gruelling race came to an end in this popular resort town of Himachal Pradesh Thursday .


This year’s race is being described as the toughest in its nine year history due to the changed route and daily rain and thunderstorms which pounded the bikers .


In the overall standings , Pinto came first followed by Purna Bahadur Pradhan and Surendra Singh .


In the open men solo Pinto stood first with a timing of 17:33:21 , Pradhan second with 21:27:27 . Surender Singh came third .


In the open women section Laxmi Magar , Sowmya Urs and Shital Chavan .


In the masters solo Van Belle Jean Louis , Michael Mclean and Luis Canto Moniz .