By elections: BJP wins both seats in Himachal


Shimla: The BJP candidate Vishal Nehriya has been declared winner in the Dharamsala vidhan seat of Himachal Pradesh. Nehriya defeated the rebel candidate Rakesh Kumar by a margin of 6,758 votes.

All the other five candidates including Congress’ Vijay Inder Karan lost their deposits here.

The ruling BJP also won the Pachhad seat in Sirmaur district, where its candidate Reena Kashyap won by 2678 votes over her nearest rival, Gangu Ram Musafir of the Congress.

Byelections were held on October 21 in two assembly segments.The voter turnout was around 70 percent