Vipin Parmar elected new Speaker of Himachal Vidhan Sabha


Shimla: Former Himachal Pradesh health minister Vipin Parmar was unanimously elected as the new speaker of the state assembly today.

Deputy speaker Hans Raj announced this in the assembly on the second day of the ongoing budget session here after passage of four resolutions for Parmar’s election as the speaker. One of the resolutions was presented by Chief Minister Jai Ram Thakur.
The four resolutions are a part of Assembly procedure. Parmar is the 17 th speaker of the state assembly.

Chief Minister Jai Ram Thakur who is also the Leader of the House, along with Opposition leader Mukesh Agnihotri led him to the Speaker’s chair. After which Parmar took charge as the new Speaker of the state assembly. He is the 17 th speaker of the house.Parmar hails from Kangra the state’s most populous district.

The 55-year-old Bharatiya Janata Party leader was unanimously declared as the new Speaker as no other member of the legislative assembly filed a nomination.

The opposition Congress with a strength of 21 members in the 68-member House did not file any nomination for the post.

The ruling BJP has a total of 44 MLAs whereas the CPI (M) has a lone MLA. Two independent MLAs are supporting the ruling BJP government.

The Speaker’s post had been lying vacant since January 16 when the then Speaker Rajeev Bindal submitted his resignation. Bindal was later elected as the president of the state unit of the BJP.