Himachal must have five new districts : says BJP


himachal mapShimla : Barely two months after being ousted from power in Himachal Pradesh BJP leaders gathered here on Saturday have come up with a proposal to break Kangra into four districts , Shimla and Mandi into two districts each .

The president of the state BJP unit Satpal Satti told reporters that his party was in favour of breaking the three largest districts in the state and carving out five new districts . Taking the number of districts from the current 12 to 17 .

“We are in favour of breaking Kangra the most populous district of the state into Palampur , Nurpur , Kangra and Dehra ,” Satti said .

Palampur will consist of Palampur , Sulah , Jaisinghpur and Baijnath . Nurpur will have Nurpur , Indora , Jwali and Fatehpur .

Kangra will consist of Kangra , Dharamsala , Shahpur , Nagrota and Bagwa . Dehra will have Dehra , Jaswa , Pragpur and Jwalamukhi .

“Mandi district is proposed to be broken up into Mandi and Sundernagar . Shimla district will be split into Shimla and Mahasu ,”said Satti .

Mandi will consist of Mandi , Jogindernagar , Drang , Balh and Siraj . Sundernagar will have Sundernagar , Dharampur , Nachan , Karsog and Sarkaghat .

Shimla will consist of Shimla , Kasumpati and Shimla rural. While Mahasu will consist of Theog , Jubbal , Kotkahi , Rohru , Chopal and Rampur .