Shimla now has 22 silence zones


Shimla has 22 silence zones these include hospitals, schhols, colleges, courts, a university, state assembly, state secretariat, governor’s house among other places.

These places will now be monitored for controlled-level of noise pollution in the hill station by the MC, district administration and the pollution control board.

The prominent silent zones includes, Snowdon(IGMC),Ripon, Lady Reading, Sanitorium, Zonal Ayurvedic hospitals.The H P high court, State assembly, Raj Bhawan, St Bedes,RKMV College, Government College Sanjauli,Tara Hall,St Edwards School,Auckland House,Tibetan School, Government School Kasumpti among other places.

An official said these silent zones have been decided on the basis of directions of the National Green Tribunal.

Although it remains to be seen if noise pollution is actually monitored at these spots.